Sunday, 20 October 2013

SolidWorks - Loft

Loft is another function other than sweep that requires at least two sketches. To get an idea how a loft function differs from other function, see here.

Loft function is very useful especially if you want to control the shapes of the two end faces. The main difference between sweep and loft is that:

  • Sweep: is defined by the path and cross sectional area. The shape of the cross section area is uniform all along the path.
  • Loft: is defined by the shape of the cross section area at the end of the solids. The path in between the two ends can be defined by user but by default it would be automatically fitted by the software.

In SolidWorks, a typical loft operation would follow this step:
1. Draw a sketch on a plane.
SolidWorks loft 1
First sketch

2. Create a reference plane and draw the second sketch.
SolidWorks loft 2
Second sketch on a plane offset of the first plane

3. If needed, additional sketch can be created on another reference plane. The third sketch and onwards is not mandatory. At minimum, loft function requires two closed-loop sketch.
SolidWorks loft 3
Third sketch is defined

4. Draw the "Guide curve" for the loft operation. This step is not mandatory, only if user requires the profile to follow defined path.
SolidWorks loft guide curve
Guide curve is added

5. Perform the loft operation.
SolidWorks loft solid
Resulting solid when the guide curve is used
SolidWorks loft solid
Resulting solid when the guide curve is not used

Sunday, 6 October 2013

New Project - Mitsubishi Lancer

Recently I'm starting to do another 3D model of a car shell, this time round is Mitsubishi Lancer. No particular reason why I decided to do this car model. As for now, the work is still in progress, struggling to find free time to finish it off.

Anyway, see the image below for the gradual progression of the model. Enjoy!

Mitsubishi Lancer
Supposedly is the real car!

Starting off with the blueprint.

I always start from the side door

And progressing towards the front of the car 

The roof start to form

And front hood

More details added!

Rear windshield formed

And the front bumper..
Well, this is what I've done so far. Things getting more challenging here! Hopefully I can finish it soon :)

Friday, 20 September 2013

Keyshot - CAD Rendering Software

Some of the CAD software come with build in rendering tool. SolidWorks is pretty famous for its build-in rendering tool as the result produced is considered very good with wide selection of material library.

However, there are some software that is designed to be dedicated only for rendering. Recently I tried one of them. The software name is Keyshot.


Compatible for both Windows 32-bit and 62-bit, this software allow you to have 14 days of trial. Download the trial here if you're interested.

For first time user, this software is relatively easy to use. The material library provided is considered pretty wide and it allow you to "custom" made your own material. Assigning material and appearance can be done as easy as using drag-and drop thingy.

Even though Keyshot is an independent software company and is not tied in with any CAD software system, it is capable to import most of the popular CAD files. Assembly file can also be imported directly to Keyshot without losing its relationship. Just click the import button, and you will see your assembly almost instantly.

Despite all the good things about it, by not linked to any CAD software means that the relationship defined in the assembly is also not important. This can become pretty troublesome especially when you need to do rendering of two identical assembly with different instances as you can not modify your assembly in Keyshot. You would need to import it two times and assign the same material twice. That's double the work.

In conclusion, this software has pro and cons. If you need to do rendering on the same assembly with different arrangement/instances, this software might not be suitable for you. However, overall this software can produce decently presentable result and is very user friendly and easy to use.

Some renderings that I've done using Keyshot:







Friday, 3 May 2013

Tutorial - Lego (2)

This tutorial is a continuation of the previous tutorial here. If you haven't completed the first part, it is advisable to complete the first part before doing this part.

In this part, now we're going to assemble few pieces of the Lego together to make some shape. After the completion of this tutorial, you can build your own 3D Lego!

1. Click File => New, and select Assembly.

2. The default setting for SolidWorks would automatically run the "Insert Components" feature. You can see it on the left side bar. Click on the "Browse" button, and locate the Lego piece you made in Part 1 of this tutorial. If you haven't closed it yet, it should appear on the "Open Documents" window above the "Browse" button. 

3. Now you should see your Lego piece displayed on the display window. Left click to confirm the placement of the piece. Now to insert another piece, click the "Insert Components" button located at the "Assembly" ribbon.

4. Same thing as step 3, left click anywhere to confirm the placement of your second Lego piece. You should see something like shown below.

5. After having two pieces together, now its time to arrange the placement of the pieces. Click on the "Mate" button located at the "Assembly" ribbon. You should see the Mate tab on the left side of the screen.

6. On the Mate tab on the left, select "Coincident" from the Standard Mates, and select the side of the first Lego pieces (Shown blue in figure below).

7. Now select the same side of the second piece. A pop-up box should appear after selecting the two surfaces. Click on the green thick button on the pop-up box.

8. Do the same thing as above, click Coincident, but now select the bottom surface of the the piece.

9. Then select the bottom surface of the second piece. Click the green thick on the pop-up box.

10. Same again, apply Coincident Mate (or some people call Constrain) on the two surfaces of the piece shown below. Click OK (green thick button) after that. Now your Lego piece should be arranged nicely, adjacent to each other. By now you should understand how to apply a simple Coincident mate according to your design intent.

11. Repeat step 3 and 4 to insert another piece of Lego.

12. Click on the Mate button. Now on the left side tab, click on the Concentric mate, and select the two cylindrical surface as shown below. 

13. Now give Coincident mate on the side surface of the piece as shown below.

14. Finally, give Coincident constrain on the top surface of the previous piece and the bottom surface of the third piece. Click OK to finalize the Mate.

15. Now you have completed the first series of tutorial to build a simple Lego assembly. You can have an experiment yourself to build a more complex Lego assembly :)



Monday, 15 April 2013

Tutorial - Lego (1)

For those who are totally new to SolidWorks, this tutorial might help you to learn to do your first model. What you need is just a little bit of effort to do follow every steps carefully.

This is going to be a 2-series tutorial, where in the first post you'll make the lego piece (part) and at the second part of the tutorial you'll assemble the lego pieces together (assembly).

1. Open up SolidWorks on your computer. After it loaded, a screen like below should be seen.


2. Click File => New => Parts. A display as shown below should be seen. Note on the model tree (left tab), a default front, top, and right plane and the origin is automatically created.

3. Right click on the "Top Plane", and choose sketch (on the left side of the glasses logo).  By doing this, you're going to create a 2D sketch on the top plane.

4. After doing step no. 3, you will notice that the ribbon on top is now automatically set to "Sketch" ribbon. Press spacebar, and select "Normal To". Notice that now the top plane is now aligned to your computer screen. Choose the rectangular icon from the ribbon, and draw arbitrary rectangular as shown below.

5. Now click on "Smart Dimension" from the sketch ribbon. Click on the top line on the left followed by line on the right, and enter 24 mm for the value. This step is used to give dimension to the sketches. Give all dimension to all the lines so that it look like what is shown in figure below. Note that all the line has turned from blue to black color.

6. After completing the sketch, now its time to extrude the sketch. Click insert => Boss/base => Extrude (Alternatively, you can click on Features tab and click Boss Extrude). Notice that Boss extrude tab now appears on the left side of the screen. Select Blind on the drop down menu of Direction 1, and enter the value of 10 mm. See image below for reference. After all these have been done, click on the green thick button (lets call it OK button) to confirm the feature. Now you have a solid block =)

7. Now click on the top surface of the solid (shown in blue in image below), right click on it, and select Sketch.

8. Press space bar, and choose Normal to, such that that surface is now facing you. Draw two circle, randomly, like shown below. Left click on the left circle. While holding ctrl button, left click on the right circle. On the left tab (Properties), select equal.

Note: Holding the ctrl button allows you to do multiple selection.
By adding equal relations on the two circles, now they will have same radius.

9. Now select the center of the left circle.

10. While holding ctrl button on your keyboard, select the center of the right circle. On the left tab (Properties), select Horizontal. Observe that now the two circle is aligned horizontally.

11. On Sketch Ribbon, click on Smart Dimension and give dimension to the circle as shown below. Notice after giving all these dimensions, the circle color should change from blue to black.

12. Same like previously, now we need to extrude the circle (See step 6 if you forget how to extrude). On the left tab, Select Blond and extrude for 5 mm. Click the OK button to confirm. The shape of the LEGO piece started to form.

13. Now select the bottom face (shown in blue in image below). Right click and select "sketch".

14. Draw a random rectangular and using the "Smart Dimension", give a dimension as shown in picture below.

15. Now select Insert => Cut => Extrude. On the Cut Extrude tab on the left side, select blind with a distance of 9 mm.

16. You should see the result as something like shown below.
Now, select the inner surface as shown below in blue, right click, and select Sketch. 

17. Same step as previously, draw four circles (two of them to be concentric to each other), and give dimensions as shown below. Note that I started to skip few details as you should have done previously.

18. Click Insert => Boss/base => Extrude. On the Boss Extrude tab on the left side, select "Up To Surface" for direction 1, and select the pink surface shown in image below as the reference surface.

19. Now select the surface as shown below in blue, right click, and select sketch.

20. Draw a random rectangle and give dimension as shown in image below.

21. Draw two circles, concentric to the circle we extruded previously like shown below (shown in blue color). Alternative method is to use "Convert Entities", and select the outer edge of the circles.

22. Now from the Sketch ribbon, select "Trim Entities", and select "Power Trim" from the Trim option tab on the left side. Left click on the mouse, hold, and drag the cursor through the unwanted part of the sketch as shown in image below.
Note: This step, how to use Trim, is a very important step. Make sure you understand how to use the Trim tool.

23. Likewise, do the same thing on the unwanted part of the sketch on the right side.

24. Using the same technique as step 18, perform an Boss Extrude, Up To Surface, and the pink surface shown below as the reference surface.

25. Now do the same thing, sketch two vertical rectangles and using Smart Dimension, complete the sketch as shown below.

26. Using Trim tool, trim away unwanted sketch like shown in image below.

27. Similarly, perform Up To Surface Boss Extrude until the bottom surface of the Lego piece. If you follow all the steps correctly, you should have a rough shape of a Lego piece like shown below. Now what is left is just some finishing to make it look more realistic =)

28. Click Insert => Features => Chamfer. On the Chamfer options box on the left side, enter 1 mm for the chamfer distance and the angle to be 45 degree (default is set at 45 deg), and select all four outer corners of the Lego piece. Click OK to finalize the feature.


29. Using the same setting, insert another chamfer at all four inner corner of the piece.


30. Click OK to finalize and create the chamfer. Now your Lego piece should look something shown below. You're almost reaching the end =)

31. Insert chamfer again, but this time enter 0.30 mm for the chamfer distance, leave the angle at default 45 degree. Select the top and bottom edges of the Lego piece (shown in dotted blue line in image below). Click OK to proceed.

32. Now you have reached the end of the first tutorial part. Your Lego piece should look like the real Lego piece as shown below. Congratulation on your completion!

Continue to the second part of the tutorial here.